Bob Dylan – Phoenix, AZ, Comerica Theatre (4th October 2018) [Incomplete Concert] – Phoenix Video

published: 2018-10-06 14:00:07

Hello everyone,

Another video for today, and this one is special. We have another 2018 show available. This is the first concert of the 2018 US Fall Tour and the 43rd of the year. Bob is still a must-see and proves everyone he can play his classics as well as more contemporary material.
AZ central gave a rave review for this show, and rightfully so:

This year we are marking the 30th anniversary of the Never Ending Tour, Bob constant touring around the world since Concord, CA, June 7th 1988. In 30 years, Bob radically changed his style and voice multiple times, releasing 14 studio albums (from Down In The Groove to Triplicate), and playing almost 3000 concerts.

2018 will certainly go down as one of Bob’s best year, shaking up the set more than he ever did in a decade. His show in Phoenix just came out, and while it is a lossy file, we already have a goldmine. A jazzy It Ain’t Me Babe (with a slight hint of Velvet Underground), a rocking Highway 61 Revisited, and a beautiful Simple Twist Of Fate set the tone for one wonderful night. Then we have the harmonica. Bob plays a solo only he can on When I Paint My Masterpiece, reminiscing of the Rolling Thunder Revue. Like A Rolling Stone is certainly the best track of the night, thanks to Tony Garnier’s powerful bass.
It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry is also incredibly well done, offering a moody blues atmosphere. The crowd goes nuts for Gotta Serve Somebody, soulful as always.

The sound is quite good, the only downside being the missing Things Have Changed. If a better version circulates, we could have one of the best show of the year at hand. I strongly recommend this show in full.

Here is the setlist

1. Things Have Changed – Missing
2. It Ain’t Me, Babe (Incomplete) 00:00
3. Highway 61 Revisited 03:44
4. Simple Twist Of Fate 08:17
5. High Water (For Charley Patton) 13:59
6. When I Paint My Masterpiece 19:13
7. Honest With Me 24:55
8. Tryin’ To Get To Heaven 29:20
9. Workingman’s Blues #2 34:34
10. Make You Feel My Love 41:36
11. Pay In Blood 45:54
12. Like A Rolling Stone 50:33
13. Early Roman Kings 56:50
14. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right 1:02:45
15. Love Sick 1:09:16
16. Thunder On The Mountain 1:14:28
17. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry 1:21:06
18. Gotta Serve Somebody 1:26:16

19. Blowin’ In The Wind 1:33:08
20. Ballad Of A Thin Man 1:38:43

#BobDylan #Phoenix #NeverEndingTour

Credits to for the informations and for their reviews. The picture is the official poster for the 2017-2018 shows.
My next videos will be a mix of 1990 shows and onwards, and of course the usual new 2018 shows.

As always, if you have more requests for shows or sessions you’d like to hear, send me a message or leave a comment below.


Some local news is curated - Original might have been posted at a different date/ time! Click the source link for details.

4 Comments - Write a Comment

  1. I LOVE YOUR YOUTUBE Channel. I can't wait to see him this tour 3 times!

  2. Thank you! Great to hear WB#2 again. Odd arrangement, but I'm sure it will grow on me.

  3. Is it me, or did he sing High Water to the tune of Tangled Up in Blue? Oh, well. It's Uncle Bob. I'd love to see the look on the band's faces.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.